Allium Flowers

Header

I first fell in love with Alliums during the garden tours last summer with the Garden Bloggers Fling in the Twin Cities.  The height, color, and shape really caught my eye and I knew that I had to plant some in my garden.

I did some research and found that alliums are planted as a bulb in the fall.  In the early spring it will begin to sprout leaves.  At first it looked a lot like a daffodil – I was pretty sure that I goofed and planted the wrong bulbs!

The stem of the plant began to grow much higher than a daffodil so I was relieved to find that I had planted the right bulbs after all.

It was interesting to watch the flower over a few days.  The flower starts off in a tightly packed ball and quickly blooms into what I can only describe as a firework on top of a stem.

The flowers are beautiful! It reminds me of something you would see in a Dr. Seuss book.

The bulbs were a bit more expensive than tulip and daffodil bulbs, but I definitely plan to purchase more this fall to add to my garden.

Allium 1

Allium 2017 (2)

Allium 4

Allium 3

Leave a Reply

