My 5 Gallon Garden

1

I have tried to grow a real nice vegetable garden over the last few years but have struggled due to having such sandy soil in parts of my yard.  This year I decided to try out an alternative – one that would guarantee me much better soil for the summer.

In an effort to add some plants to the area least able to grow I purchased several 5 gallon buckets from Menards.  This plan worked out great for me from the start since the buckets were on sale for $1.99 each with a $1.99 mail in rebate – so basically free!

We started out by creating 6 holes in the bottom with a hammer and nail.  This will create way for excess water to exit the bucket.  Next we filled the bucket with a potting soil mix.  My daughter chose to plant tomatoes, cucumbers, and watermelon.

Much to my surprise, the bucket gardens actually worked!  My tomatoes are growing taller than they ever did in the ground, I have two beautiful cucumbers started and my watermelon vine gets longer each day.

Next year I definitely intend on purchasing more 5 gallon buckets and continuing this new alternative garden.

2

3

4

5

6


6 thoughts on “My 5 Gallon Garden

  1. First of all, what a great deal you got on 5 gallon buckets! Second, congratulations on your gardening success. I have always had better luck planting in my raised bed than directly in the ground, too.
    Thank you for linking up at the #HomeMattersParty this week.

    Like

  2. Great idea! Love the price on buckets!

    How full did you fill the buckets with potting soil?

    I am looking forward to trying this next growing season!

    Thanks for the information!

    Like

Leave a comment