Finding Free Plants

free plant

Everybody loves a good deal.  In my attempts to create a beautiful yard and garden I have found a few resources for free and inexpensive plants.  Since I don’t have an unlimited budget, I prefer to stick with free and cheap!

free plants 1

Last year I was able to acquire some free spearmint plants from a friend.  She posted on Facebook that she was digging up her mint garden and the plants were free for the taking.  Since I hadn’t grown mint yet I decided to take her up on the offer.  My daughter and I drove to her house and were able to dig up as many mint plants as we wanted.  I lost count of how many we ended up with, but I do recall the looming thunderstorm closing in and having to dig as fast as I could.  We made it back to the car just before the downpour.

Just this weekend I spotted a post on Nextdoor about some free day lilies that the homeowner just dug up.  The homeowner had quite a few day lilies set out on the boulevard; which is very convenient for introverts like myself who don’t wish to talk to strangers.  Nextdoor is a combination of Facebook and Craigslist in my opinion.  Residents of nearby neighborhoods are able to connect online, share resources, post free items, and offer service suggestions.  I use it to find free plants.

A quick search of Craigslist will show a variety of free items.  Starting in mid spring the free plant posts start to pop up.  Like with any type of “exchange” website, be mindful of where and whom you are meeting.  I have a few addresses jotted down with more plants on their boulevards this weekend.

While at work, several of us have shared plants that the others don’t have.  Last year I brought in some iris and strawberry plants that had overgrown parts of my garden.  In exchange I went home with some garlic and lilies to plant.

Where do you find free or inexpensive plants?

 

2 thoughts on “Finding Free Plants

  1. I haven’t used Next-door but will definitely check it out. Thanks for the suggestion!

    Not spending money on seeds and plants was my mission when I started serious veggie gardening and landscape work on our new home a few years ago. We joked about calling our project zeroscaping because we didn’t want to spend any money…and have actually ended up spending very little.

    For plants, we took or dug up donated plants and cuttings from family and neighbors. Then we divided (mostly grasses like society garlic, flax lilies, liriopi) and proprogated (rooting cuttings like lantana and plumbago in water) to double and triple our stock. It took an extra year for those plants to fill in but it was well worth not spending a $100+ to buy those plants.

    Also, check Lowe’s, HD, local nursery for clearance plants. I got a large half dead sweet potato vine (because it was outgrowing the pot) last year for $2. I divided it among 3 planters and it just came back again this spring.

    For seeds, I usually stock up at the dollar store when they are 4/$1, but I’ve also gotten free SASE from the seed exchange forum on Gardenweb (now through Houzz). http://forums2.gardenweb.com/forums/the-seed-exchange. In addition, my local library branch has a seed exchange box by the reference desk that is free! There’s also a garden club that meets semi regularly through the library too that I’m sure does exchanges and probably handouts as well.

    Like

Leave a Reply

